top of page
Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget

1943 publication; Jayne Eyre; Wuthering Heights two book set; Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte; Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte; 1943; Beautiful books inside protective slipcase; "Illustrated with Wood Engravings by Fritz Eichenberg"; Random House Publishers; each book has hand-written dedication to "June" August 7th 1946 from "Sutherland".


description -

Jane Eyre: An Autobiography, is a novel by English writer Charlotte Brontë. It was published on 16 October 1847, by Smith, Elder & Co. of London, England, under the pen name "Currer Bell". The first American edition was published the following year by Harper & Brothers of New York.


Jane Eyre follows the emotions and experiences of its eponymous heroine, including her growth to adulthood and her love for Mr. Rochester, the Byronic master of fictitious Thornfield Hall. In its internalisation of the action—the focus is on the gradual unfolding of Jane's moral and spiritual sensibility, and all the events are coloured by a heightened intensity that was previously the domain of poetry—Jane Eyre revolutionised the art of fiction.


Wuthering Heights -

Wuthering Heights is an 1847 novel by Emily Brontë, initially published under her pen name Ellis Bell. It concerns two families of the landed gentry living on the West Yorkshire moors, the Earnshaws and the Lintons, and their turbulent relationships with the Earnshaws' foster son, Heathcliff.


author -

Charlotte Brontë has been called the 'first historian of the private consciousness' and the literary ancestor of writers like Proust and Joyce.  The novel contains elements of social criticism, with a strong sense of Christian morality at its core, but is nonetheless a novel many consider ahead of its time given the individualistic character of Jane and the novel's exploration of classism, sexuality, religion, and proto-feminism.

JAYNE EYRE; WUTHERING HEIGHTS (2-book collectors set)

    bottom of page