top of page
Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget

1998 "First Edition" stated; Little, Brown and Company publishers, Boston, New York; hardbound in blue-grey boards with gilt lettering along spine; very good condition, appears unread; dust jacket quite good.


Description -

The Pilot's Wife : A Novel is a 1998 novel by Anita Shreve. It is chronologically the third novel in Shreve's informal trilogy to be set in a large beach house on the New Hampshire coast that used to be a convent. It is preceded by Fortune's Rocks and Sea Glass.  The novel was chosen as an Oprah's Book Club selection for March 1999.


Plot -

The novel is about Kathryn Lyons, whose husband, Jack Lyons, dies in a plane crash over the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Malin Head, Ireland. As she and her daughter Mattie try to cope with this sudden loss, she finds herself bombarded by the press. While she and the airlines try to find the reason for the crash, she slowly unravels a series of secrets her husband has kept from her until she realizes that he lived a double life she never knew about.

The Pilot's Wife by Anita Shreve

SKU: BS45c
    bottom of page